RackBrief

Unraid

A Linux-based OS that turns a PC into flexible network storage plus a Docker and VM host.

Checked against the maker's own documentation on 21 September 2026.

Minimums are what the maker says it takes to boot, not what it takes to be useful. Plan on more of everything. 7.3.2 (2026-07-08) is the latest full stable release; 7.3.3 is currently a release-candidate (7.3.3-rc.1, 2026-09-03) and 7.4.0 is in beta (7.4.0-beta.2, 2026-09-03) as of the check date, so those were not used as 'current'. Unraid's own docs/marketing pages do not publish a specific minimum RAM or minimum disk-space figure (checked docs.unraid.net getting-started and installer pages plus unraid.net product/download pages), recorded as null rather than guessed. base_os left null: Unraid is commonly described elsewhere as Slackware-based, but no vendor page fetched today states this explicitly.
FactValueWhere this comes from
Current release7.3.2Lime Technology, Inc.
Released8 Jul 2026Lime Technology, Inc.
LicenceProprietary. A paid licence key is required after the free trial.Lime Technology, Inc.
Built onnot stated
Memory, minimumnot stated
Disk, minimumnot stated
Processor64-bit x86_64 ("runs on nearly any 64-bit x86_64 system")Lime Technology, Inc.
CostPaid. Free for a 30-day trial (no credit card required); perpetual licenses are one-time purchases: Starter $49 (6 storage devices, 1 year of updates), Unleashed $109 (unlimited devices, 1 year of updates), Lifetime $249 (unlimited devices, lifetime updates).Lime Technology, Inc.

Official site: unraid.net · Documentation: read the manual · Release notes

Release history

We have not yet built a checked release history for Unraid. Until we have, the maker's own release notes are the place to look, and the version in the table above is the one we last confirmed was current.